SCHB vs. SWTSX

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
geospatial

SCHB vs. SWTSX

Post by geospatial » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:14 am

SCHB is the Schwab ETF for US Broad Market and SWTSX is the Schwab mutual fund for US Total Market, so I think the mutual fund has a little more exposure to small caps, but from a market cap perspective I think they're similar. Both have an ER of 0.03%. If held in a Roth, the tax implications of ETF vs. mutual fund aren't really in play. Is there any reason to pick one over the other beyond the ability to more quickly process ETF transactions if needed? This is my first time dabbling outside my employer-sponsored retirement account so I haven't had the chance to deal with ETFs until now.

tenkuky

Re: SCHB vs. SWTSX

Post by tenkuky » Thu Feb 08, 2018 9:21 am

I went to ETFs several years ago with Schwab, initially hesitant because of the uncertainty. More comfortable now, but use both SWTSX and SCHB albeit in different accounts. Main things to be aware:
1. Yes, you can time the purchase of the ETF intra-day, vs. waiting till close NAV for the fund. A little market timing there :)
2. Purchasing ETFs is only in whole share amounts, so depending on price you will have lots of leftover in cash reserves. It has become annoying for me as I prefer to stay fully invested. With fund, you can invest down to a penny.
3. There will be a small "exchange trading fee" when you sell the ETF, to be aware of, nothing huge. Not seen that with the fund.
4. Be aware of the settlement times; ETF settlement 3 days after trade, fund settles next day.
5. The BIGGEST: is the ask-bid spread, especially a problem if you don't use limit orders. Learn about limit orders so as not to get hit with paying more than you bargained for in the price. There are good threads on this issue.

Final thought: they are similar enough that if you don't mind subtle issues, go with ETF. Or like me, mix and match :beer