Thoughts on this beginner strategy?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Brydge

Thoughts on this beginner strategy?

Post by Brydge »

Hello,

I am a newbie investor about to open my first Roth IRA. Because there are minimum purchases on most index funds, and because I am limited in my funds available to invest, I am considering purchasing Target Date Funds initially in order to keep my account diversified. Once I reach a substantial amount (for me), such as $8-10k, then selling the target date fund and purchasing the individual stock and bond index funds.

Does this make sense? Or should I forego the target date fund and start immediately with a stock index, and when I save enough money buy a bond index, and so on?

Thanks in advance!!
Silverado

Re: Thoughts on this beginner strategy?

Post by Silverado »

Sure, at this point that is fine. Getting started is the important part. Keep reading and learning as you get that balance moving up.

Good luck, and don't worry about anything else but saving.
John Laurens

Post by John Laurens »

Fine for now? It’s fine forever.

Regards,
John
ThrustVectoring

Post by ThrustVectoring »

Brydge wrote: Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:47 pm Does this make sense? Or should I forego the target date fund and start immediately with a stock index, and when I save enough money buy a bond index, and so on?
Either works great. With only $5k of your total retirement portfolio invested, what you're invested in doesn't particularly matter. Do whatever strategy gets you started, saving, and working on things.
Current portfolio: 60% VTI / 40% VXUS
Olemiss540

Post by Olemiss540 »

Not to brag, but I have hundreds of dollars more than you :moneybag :moneybag :moneybag and I am still in target date funds!