Please help me simplify my portfolio & asset allocation

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Simplify11

Please help me simplify my portfolio & asset allocation

Post by Simplify11 » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:04 pm

BACKGROUND:
Emergency funds: About 4 years (sitting in online bank earning 1.4%) Trickling a little at a time into brokerage acct (VTSAX & VGTSX)
Debt: Zero (mortgage paid)
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly (no kids)
Tax Rate: 25%
State of Residence: CA
Desired Asset allocation: 70% stocks / 30% bonds
Desired International allocation: 20% of stocks?

QUESTION: Is there a better way to consolidate the portfolio below or is this adequate? I'm a novice investor and would like some advice.
1. Should I keep doing what I'm doing with current employer or not mess around with large cap value, mid cap, small cap, etc?
2. Is it better to allocate future funds into desired asset allocation or should I reshuffle current funds?

I want to be adequately diversified and invest for long term but also want to NOT take unnecessary risk so I'd rather get 6% average returns than lose 50% in case of a major market downturn. Any advice is much appreciated. Thank You!

CURRENT PORTFOLIO:
Cash: 0.8% (not including cash in online bank)
INTL BONDS 1%
US BONDS 10.9%
INTL STOCKS 12.4%
US STOCKS 71.9%
ALTERNATIVES 3%

Portfolio breakdown with funds & Expense Ratios
PAST EMPLOYERS:
PRE-TAX 403B Vanguard Total Bond 0.03% & Vanguard Institutional Index 0.02%
PRE-TAX 457 International Equity Index 0.01%
PRE-TAX 403B Domestic Equity Index 0.005%, International Equity Index 0.01%, Target Fund 2045 0.11%

CURRENT EMPLOYER:
PRE-TAX 403B Fidelity 500 Index 0.03%; FIBAX (Interm. Treasury bond index) 0.06%; Large cap value, 0.05%, Mid cap Index 0.05%; Total Market Index 0.05%; International Index 0.06%

POST-TAX 401A Fidelity US Bond Index 0.14%; Fidelity 500 Index 0.05%, Small Cap Index 0.05%