Should I buy a business or suck it up at a job(s) with a pension.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
VINNY

Should I buy a business or suck it up at a job(s) with a pension.

Post by VINNY » Sun Jan 21, 2018 1:42 pm

I am 48 years old and my wife is 44. We are from Illinois and I am a Police Officer and my wife is a Teacher.

We have three kids, 11, 13 and 15 years old.

Our Gross Annual Income from our jobs is: $190,000.00 of which we defer the maximum to my 457 and to her 457 and 403(b), ($55,500.00) bringing our Gross annual income to $134,500.00

Dividends: In 2017 we generated $32,000.00 in dividends and capital gains from our portfolio. All of which gets reinvested. About $10,000.00 of those dividends and gains came from the taxable side of our portfolio.

Our Net Annual Income: I am estimating based on our effective tax of 6% (after deductions and child tax credits) to be approximately $10,535.00 per month, or $126,420 per year.

Monthly Spending: Approximately $5,000.00 per month. This includes everything, utilities, gas, groceries, insurance, eating out, etc, etc. If we tried, we could get this figure lower but we have a weakness for deep dish pizza!

Debts: $0. We have zero debt. Our home is paid off and carry no other debt whatsoever.

Fixed Assets: A home worth approximately $275,000.00 with no mortgage. Two paid in full cars worth about $20,000.00

Savings & Investments: $1,602,487.00 in total broken down as follows.

Tax Sheltered:
My ROTH IRA : $144,010.00
Her ROTH IRA: $138,648.00

Her 403(b): $412,224.00
Her 457: $41,161.00
My 457: $252,365.00

Child #1 Education Ira: $11,743.00

Child #1 ROTH IRA: $7,440.00
Child #2 ROTH IRA: $7,433
Child #3 ROTH IRA: $3,100.00

Taxable:
Joint GNMA Bond: $43,406.00
Joint Total Stock Market Index: $539,944.0
Joint Prime Money Market: $1,010.00

The overwhelming majority of this money is invested in index funds at Vanguard. Mainly in VTSAX.