Inheritance !! Moving From Morgan Stanley ...

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
countdevio

Inheritance !! Moving From Morgan Stanley ...

Post by countdevio » Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:22 pm

Hi, first of all, please excuse me. I am a total newbie to investing.

My dad passed a year ago and left me and my brothers equal shares in individual
Morgan Stanley portfolios. Being a newbie, everything I've read is, you will never
make out in the long run with a broker.

The Stocks have done great! 30 grand this year since last year when I received the account.
I could live on what is in this account for whatever years I have left (I'm in my early 60s), unless
the stock market does a downturn. I'm thinking about it, and my thoughts are, to move this to a
non managed account like Ameritrade, Vanguard, etc.

My question(s) is, first of all, is this a good idea? What are the fees of moving a few hundred thousand
over to one of these companies? Since the stock market is at it's highest, should I sell the stocks (or
will Morgan Stanley slam me) ... or can I just move them over. I have mostly blue chip stocks, Amazon,
Facebook, Caterpilar, etc.

Again, I'm pretty clueless and I'm not really a gambler, and being in my 60's, I'm not investing
for my future. Thanks in advance for your understanding and responses.

whodidntante

Re: Inheritance !! Moving From Morgan Stanley ...

Post by whodidntante » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:05 pm

You would be able to move the securities in kind to a discount broker. Some brokers will pay you a cash bonus, reimburse you for the account closing fee that MS will charge, and offer you free trades for a limited time or perpetually. Look at Merrill Edge.

countdevio

Post by countdevio » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:40 pm

Thank you ...

brother7

Post by brother7 » Thu Jan 18, 2018 10:56 pm

1. Is the inherited account an IRA or some type of retirement account or a regular taxable account?