Help with Tax-Efficient Portfolio for Taxable account

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
ottto

Help with Tax-Efficient Portfolio for Taxable account

Post by ottto » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:33 pm

Hello Bogleheads,
So far I've contributed as much as I can to my Principal 401k / Vanguard Roth IRA and I'm looking to invest money (~15,000) in a taxable account (don't worry I have emergency cash funds). I've opened an individual account via Vanguard and am looking for guidance on selecting tax-efficient stock/bonds from the Vanguard mutual funds list. I'd like the allocation to be distributed around 80% stocks/20% bonds. This is my first time investing in a taxable account so I'd like it to be relatively basic and simple at first.

After browsing Bogleheads / reading the Bogleheads book, I'm wondering if the following would be a good starting set of funds for a taxable account:
(VTSMX) Vanguard Total Stock Market Index: $12,000
(VWITX) Vanguard Intermediate-Term Tax-Exempt Fund $3,000

-- General Information --
Tax Bracket: 24%
Income: 120,000

-- Principal 401k -- (need to change up)
Principal LifeTime Hybrid 2050 CIT (57.14%)
Principal LifeTime Hybrid 2055 CIT (42.86%)
Total: $45,307.05

-- Vanguard Roth IRA --
Vanguard Target Retirement 2060 Fund Investor Shares
Total: $12,625.22

livesoft

Re: Help with Tax-Efficient Portfolio for Taxable account

Post by livesoft » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:37 pm

Do you really need to have 80/20 in taxable? I ask because many investors put the bond fund in their 401(k) and leave taxable at 100% stocks. That is, they don't need the same asset allocation in all of their separate accounts as long as the asset allocation for all of them together is where they want it to be.

So VTSMX (really VTSAX) in taxable seems fine for what you want to accomplish, but move $3,000 of your 401(k) into a bond fund, too.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.