Vanguard Retirement /thru employer allocation

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
donkashane48

Vanguard Retirement /thru employer allocation

Post by donkashane48 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:25 am

Hi everyone

I'm new to trying to understand my employer 401k, I have been employed and in the 401k through them for 13yrs. On and off and always changing my payroll deduction based on life situations. But now I'm in a better situation to stay consistent in that area. My question goes to what things I should be investing in. My employer offers:

All-in one options ranging from 2015 to 2065/ incl:

Vanguard Target retirement income (VTINX).

Short term reserves:

Vanguard Retire Savings Trust IV

Vanguard Federal Money Mkt Fund (VMFXX)

Bond Funds:

Vanguard Total Bond Mkt Index Adm (VBTLX)

Vanguard Tot Bond lx Admiral (VTABX)

Domestic Stock Funds:

Vanguard Windsor II Fund Adm (VWNAX)

Vanguard Value Index Fund Adm (VVIAX)

Vanguard Morgan Growth Fund Adm (VMRAX)

Vanguard Extended Mkt Index Adm (VEXAX)

Vanguard 500 Index Fund Adm (VFIAX)

International Stock funds:

Vanguard Tot Intl lx Admiral (VTIAX)

Here is what I'm currently investing in:

500 Index Fund (29%)
Extended Mkt Index Adm (30%)
Tot Intl Stock lx Admiral (34%)
Total Bond Mkt Index Adm (7%)

I'm 36 planning on retiring at 65 hopefully sooner :D. Does my current allocation look ok or should I just be in an all-in one like the 2045 which is suggested if I were to use that option. Or keep doing what I'm doing just need to be investing in different funds. I will provide more info if needed. Thank you in advance its greatly appreciated.

dbr

Re: Vanguard Retirement /thru employer allocation

Post by dbr » Sat Jan 13, 2018 11:55 am

If 93% of your assets are in stocks are your clearly committed to the idea that you will not bail out of the stock market if stocks start to take a steep decline, even losing 50% or their value or more?

drk