Musician Asking for Advice

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Marketgarden

Musician Asking for Advice

Post by Marketgarden » Fri Jan 12, 2018 2:36 am

Hi guys,
I'm a freelance musician and a year removed from graduating with my doctorate in music education. I've been working on building my performance and education resume by doing gigs and adjunct teaching. My current income(40-50k) is solid for my low day to day overhead but I will hopefully be making close to six figures by teaching fulltime at a college and playing higher end gigs in the next few years. I've been doing a lot of research on investing and I wanted to start building my long-term wealth. I recently read "The Intelligent Investor" and opened a Vanguard account. My goal is to save at least 20 to 25% of my income and I just wanted your advice on my portfolio. Thanks!

Emergency funds: about 6 Months(10k in a 1.25% Ally Account)
Debt: 150k Student Loan (paying to parents, 0% interest)
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 12% Federal, Will probably go up to 22% by next year
State of Residence: CA
Desired Asset allocation: 80% stocks / 20% bonds
Desired International allocation: 25%

Taxable
52.3% Vanguard Tax-Managed Balanced Fund Admiral Shares (VTMFX) (0.09%)
5.2% VANGUARD TOTAL INTL STOCK INDEX FUND ETF (VXUS) (0.11%)
14.6% VANGUARD TOTAL STOCK MARKET ETF (VTI) (0.04%)

Roth IRA at Vanguard
27.5% Vanguard LifeStrategy Growth Fund (VASGX) (0.15%)

$20,282.00 Total assets

Contributions (Hopefully more as my income goes up)
$5,500 for my Roth IRA
$4,000 taxable

Questions: