Basic (Dumb) Vanguard Question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Englebert

Basic (Dumb) Vanguard Question

Post by Englebert »

I'm completely new to investing and recently spoke to a financial adviser who is a friend of a friend. Super nice guy who gave me his time for free and suggested a Roth IRA split into two or three funds:

Vanguard Target Retirement Date Fund
Vanguard 500 Index Fund Investor Share
Vanguard Wellington Fund Investor Shares

Here's my dumb problem, I just can't figure out on the Vanguard site how I am to allocate my money to these funds. All this financial stuff is so alien to me but I am trying and I've searched around but not really figured it out. Can someone point me to some place that it is already laid out or let me know what to do?

Thanks!
lack_ey

Re: Basic (Dumb) Vanguard Question

Post by lack_ey »

For an even dumber question (don't worry, we'll get this all sorted out :wink:), do you mean mechanically what the steps are to place buy orders for mutual funds in an account (or to open a Roth IRA in the first place), or are you asking a strategic question about relative allocations between different funds and how to decide how much to use of each?

By the way, all three funds mentioned are fine enough, but most probably wouldn't recommend mixing all three like that (not that it would be so bad, but it wouldn't seem to fit a coherent strategy), though this is potentially besides the point.
neilpilot

Post by neilpilot »

Englebert wrote: Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:58 pm I'm completely new to investing and recently spoke to a financial adviser who is a friend of a friend. Super nice guy who gave me his time for free and suggested a Roth IRA split into two or three funds: