Is it me or does everything seem expensive?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
uberational44

Is it me or does everything seem expensive?

Post by uberational44 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:48 pm

I am an index investor, with a tendency towards value investing and some trading..

It seems to me that everything seems expensive at the moment - housing, stocks, bonds

Granted I am not a professional investor, but when I look around everything seems overvalued...

I was reading a macro hedge fund investor letter that said that the client cash numbers were at a 25 year-low

I could make a move out of stocks with minimal taxation, I would!
Marketeer investing as a hobby. Interested in modern takes on value investing, passive investing and general contrarianism.

livesoft

Re: Is it me or does everything seem expensive?

Post by livesoft » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:54 pm

I think it is just you.

We have been having a discussion on how REITs have gone nowhere in 2017. Bond funds haven't done much either. Small-cap value index funds are taking a breather to let all other asset classes catch up with them after their stellar late 2016 jump.

Food is cheap. Gas is cheap. Housing has gone down in my area, so even my property taxes are less than in the past. Airfares seem to be ridiculously low, too.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

Mudflaps

Post by Mudflaps » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:56 pm

Housing is expensive, but this varies per region. My friends are seeing equity in their homes and eager to cash out and move into bigger. I have tried to tell them they are buying right back into the same inflated market they sold in.

Tyler Aspect

Post by Tyler Aspect » Wed Dec 27, 2017 12:58 pm

All securities' valuation has two components. They are the current asset valuation, and future expectations. It could be that your future expectations are lower than the market's collective estimates.