Should I preserve parents’ risky portfolio? Or “disobey” them?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
foxtrotgolf

Should I preserve parents’ risky portfolio? Or “disobey” them?

Post by foxtrotgolf » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:27 am

Greetings! Long time Boglehead.

Here’s the situation. My mom and dad are now in a nursing home, and can’t make decisions for themselves anymore. I’ve been managing their daily financial matters for the past 6 years. Their investment advisor quit last week, thanks goodness, for he charged them over $22,000 a year for 18+ years. However, to his credit, he built them a substantial income-generating portfolio.

It is now my job to handle their nest egg. I’m excited and terrified at the same time.

Background:
Total Nest Egg is $3M

Emergency funds: $220,000 in brokerage account.
Debt: none
Tax Filing Status: Married
Tax Rate: 28% Federal, 5.12% State
State of Residence: NC

Dad’s retirement assets:
Traditional IRA - $2.1M
93% Equities (71.6% Large Cap, 12.9% Mid/Small Cap, 8.4% International)
Hundreds of dividend stocks - which last year generated almost $65,000 in dividends.

Joint Brokerage - $382,000
77.4% Fixed income, split evenly between NHMAX and FXNCX
19.8% Mid-cap equities
Generated $11,411.99 in dividends last year.

Mom’s retirement assets:
Traditional IRA - $450K
99.9% Equities (81.5% AAPL, 8.3% COST)
AAPL dividends generated almost $9,000 last year.

SS income:
Mom: $7,428 annual
Dad: $16,356 annual

Contributions: None.
Expenses: They are both in a nursing home, requiring about $130,000 a year total expenses.

Questions:
1. Should I just keep this entire dividend-heavy portfolio as is? Their dividends generate almost $83,000 a year. I do appreciate its double-digit returns over the past several years, however, a 93% stocks allocation for a retired couple in their withdrawal phase seems risky.