Investing in Vanguard through TIAA-CREF

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
anglophile

Investing in Vanguard through TIAA-CREF

Post by anglophile »

Hello, I'm a newbie in the world of investments. I've had either a 401(k) or a 403(b) (currently) for more than a decade, but never took the trouble to learn about finance. Now I'm learning, and I'm surprised and a bit shocked at some of the things I'm finding out!

Right now, I work in higher education, and we have our retirement funds through TIAA-CREF. I kept all my money in a Lifecycle Fund and a Social Choice fund. Last year, I opened an IRA and a Roth with Vanguard, so I'm somewhat familiar with it. I just made a change to the trad'l IRA so that it is a Target Retirement account.

As I am still learning, I'm reading a couple of different books, including Bogleheads' Guide to Investing.

I met with my TIAA representative for our yearly checkup in October. As I've been playing it very safe for years, he suggested I might want to go from a moderate risk level to moderate/aggressive. I've been looking over his proposed plan and was delighted to see it included some Vanguard funds.

However, his plan calls for investment not only in Vanguard, but in Harbor International Institutional, American Beacon, and of course, TIAA itself (including real estate and CREF Stock R2). The biggest surprise is the recommendation that I take a huge percentage of my money and put it in CREF equities, small, mid, & large cap growth, as well as international.

I've looked at some of these funds, esp. CREF's own, and I was really surprised at the expense ratios. I forgot which one, but one of them is .90%! That's what I mean when I say I am shocked.