New to investing - Help with portfolio & basics

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
anon54010

New to investing - Help with portfolio & basics

Post by anon54010 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:13 am

Hello all,

I'm new to investing and I'm new to bogleheads. I just graduated from residency and am starting a new (relatively?) high paying job as an attending. I've been reading for a few months now, and wanted to take control of my investments, and wanted to get some feedback.

Emergency funds: Yes
Debt: None
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 33% federal, 6% state, 1% city
State of Residence: MO
Desired Asset allocation: 100% stock
Desired International allocation: 30%?

Current retirement assets (all holdings in Vanguard except for 403b, in TIAA) ~ 100k

Taxable
30% Vanguard Total International Stock Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTIAX) (0.11)
11% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares (VTSAX) (0.04)

Roth IRA
24.5% Vanguard Small Cap Value Index Fund Admiral Shares (VSIAX) (0.07)

401k (previous company)
9% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Investor Shares (VTSMX) (0.15)

403b (current company; in TIAA)
25.5% Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Institutional (VITSX) (0.04)

I would be maxing contributions annually to my 403b and IRA. I would estimate about 100k/year contributions towards taxable.

Questions:
1) Is this reasonable? I'm trying to do a 70/30 domestic/international, and within domestic 65/35 total market to small value.

2) Should I roll over my previous company's 401k to current company's 403b? Are there any other suggestions? I'm paying a higher ER because I don't have enough money in that account to buy the admiral shares.

3) Should I contribute to a traditional IRA? Or should I try to convert that to a Roth IRA (i.e. backdoor roth as I'm over the income limit)

4) Should I hold 5% cash in a money market in taxable for "buying in" when the market drops?

3funder