Need 529 Advice *New to Investing*

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
goldenbear1238

Need 529 Advice *New to Investing*

Post by goldenbear1238 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:22 pm

I have two children (5 & 2) that I've started 529 Accounts for with Scholar Share (a CA 529 savings plan). I am a CA resident. The current balances are just a few thousand dollars, but I intend to increase each account by $20K within the next 6 months.

I like Scholar Share because the US Index Equity Fund and Index US Large Cap Equity Fund have very low costs (.08% and .09% ER respectively)....which are actually lower than the Vanguard 500 Index Portfolio (.16% ER). All 3 funds are comprable in performance YTD, 1 YR, and 5 YR. Unfortunately, the other funds within Scholar Share are slightly more expensive than Vanguard's funds.

If I plan to invest the additional $20K in each 529 in the next 6 months, which types of funds should I put it in and should I put it into Vanguard 529's instead of the existing Scholar Share 529's?

pkcrafter

Re: Need 529 Advice *New to Investing*

Post by pkcrafter » Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:43 am

Welcome Goldenbear,

Have you looked at Saving for College website? It as a lot of information about options.

http://www.savingforcollege.com/investm ... ?plan_id=5

You can do age based passive at low cost. The portfolio has U.S. large, international, REIT and bond and the asset allocation changes as the child gets closer to college. You can also do static, which contains the same asset classes, but the asset allocation does not automatically change. Third choice is to use the individual funds. The funds listed are all you need. If you do individual, use U.S large cap (S&P 500, I believe), international if you wish, REIT optional, and bond in the proportion you choose. I think age based or static would be a good choice.

By the way, if you use Vanguard I don't think you will get the tax-free growth.

Paul