Rethinking I-bonds vs Tax Advantaged TIPS fund

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Buffetologist

Rethinking I-bonds vs Tax Advantaged TIPS fund

Post by Buffetologist » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:52 am

I have been buying the maximum I-bonds since 2011 in TreasuryDirect. I am in the 39.6% bracket now and expect to be in the 28% in retirement based on current tax rates.

I also have access to and have been using the Fidelity Inflation Protected Index Fund (FSIYX) in my 401K. I have my new money put into a bond fund and when the 5-yr real yield on TIPS is about 0.25% or more, I convert some to FSIYX. This way I think I am ensuring that my purchases are done with a positive real yield.

I've been trying to allocate about 10% of my portfolio to inflation-protected securities. It's occurred to me that the TIPS in the mutual fund inside the 401K is a much better place to hedge inflation than taxable I-bonds because the ultimate income tax due on the I-bonds guarantee that I under-perform inflation by a significant margin.

Does this kind of thinking make sense? I am thinking of

1) liquidating the I-bonds in my taxable and just paying the darn tax
2) buying a stock index fund with the proceeds
3) Selling stocks in my 401K and buying FSIYX so that my allocation is restored, while ensuring I don't end up with a wash sale.

Continuing to hold the I-bonds continues to ensure that these securities continue to lag inflation.

Mel Lindauer

Re: Rethinking I-bonds vs Tax Advantaged TIPS fund

Post by Mel Lindauer » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:28 pm

Buffetologist wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:52 am
I have been buying the maximum I-bonds since 2011 in TreasuryDirect. I am in the 39.6% bracket now and expect to be in the 28% in retirement based on current tax rates.