Is an investment account the best choice for me (new guy)

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
randydimera

Is an investment account the best choice for me (new guy)

Post by randydimera » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:46 am

Hello all, thank you for taking the time to read this. I am stuck and need a little advice on what to do. I am a full time college student who is 23 years old and I have like 15-20k just sitting in a checking account in the bank and my mom told me I need to do something with it because its not doing anything. So I have been doing tons of research and found bogleheads and have read books and watched videos etc because I didnt know a darn thing about finances or any of that. My only interaction with it is 10 years ago my grandma got me 100 shares of a stock through edward jones that I get a dividend check from every 3 months. (btw I called the financial adviser from there recently and he says i pay no fees on the individual stock, only to buy and sell). Anyways I really wanted to start a roth IRA because i heard that was super good, but I currently have no taxable income. So my idea was to start a vanguard account and learn to get a diversified portfolio of 3 or 4 stocks with like 5k and just let it sit to see what it will do. Im trying to learn how to do this really well because my mom has over a million in stocks with edward jones and i want to learn so i can help get her out of there because i know for a fact she is paying fees out the wazoo. So I am trying to learn and this was my idea. I need to do something with the money I have, i just hope i dont mess up and lose it all since the market is so high right now lol. I know the boglehead idea is to buy and hold and safe for retirement, but is it a bad idea since im still young to try and make some money potentially while I learn how to do this well?

Any advice would be greatly apprecied. Thanks!!

Nyc10036