Top tax bracket in CA - Bonds all muni?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
frankc29

Top tax bracket in CA - Bonds all muni?

Post by frankc29 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:00 pm

Assuming an investor is in the top tax bracket in California and will be for the foreseeable future, does it make sense to have his/her complete bond portion of a portfolio in a CA Muni fund like VCADX? Or should some bond diversification still be present? I'm no expert in this, but VCADX has a higher yield (taxes notwithstanding) than something like BND as it is.

DSInvestor

Re: Top tax bracket in CA - Bonds all muni?

Post by DSInvestor » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:06 pm

If you have tax advantaged space like 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), IRA, you can hold taxable bond funds. Use your tax advantaged space for taxable bonds and then complete the bond allocation in taxable accounts with a mix of a national tax exempt bond fund (VWIUX) and your CA tax exempt bond fund. This will give you much better diversification in your bond holdings than just VCADX.
Wiki

frankc29

Post by frankc29 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:08 pm

Thanks for the advice. I forgot to mention that this was a taxable portfolio.

PFInterest

Post by PFInterest » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:14 pm

I personally vote no. I'll pay a little extra tax to diversify over all 50 states. You could do something like 50:50.

GMT-8

Post by GMT-8 » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:40 pm

I vote yes. The yield is high; I can still sleep at night.
About 10% of my total portfolio is in Calif Interm & Long Term.
That’s 2/3 of my taxable but I have been spending it down the last few years.

GMT-8

randomizer

Post by randomizer » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:22 pm

50 percent state-specific muni, 50 percent short-term tax-exempt (federal). Bonds are for safety, stocks are for growth.
87.5:12.5, EM tilt — HODL the course!

Noobvestor

Post by Noobvestor » Wed Nov 08, 2017 12:42 am