Help Me Break My Love Affair With Fidelity Low Priced Stock

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Small Law Survivor

Help Me Break My Love Affair With Fidelity Low Priced Stock

Post by Small Law Survivor »

True confession:

Back in the early '90s I started to think about investing, and how to educate myself. I went to my local library and read magazines on finance. To the best of my memory, I studied an article in Money Magazine that listed the 50 (100?) best funds. I picked some - I believe they were all managed funds.

One of them was Fidelity Low Priced Stock (FLPSX). (drum roll)

Of all the managed funds I invested in based on the Money Mag article, this is the only one I still have. It represents 6% of my overall portfolio, but 12% of my stock investments. I hold it in my traditional IRA.

If you are familiar with this fund you know that I got lucky - it has returned almost 14% since its inception in 1989. It is a mid-cap value fund, and its manager (Joel Tillinghast) invests outside the U.S., so it's a small/mid "go anywhere" fund (40% non-US right now). It's highly diversified (it owns around 900 stocks). Its ER is .68. It's turnover is 8%.

I am primarily an index/Vanguard investor, but I can't bring myself to sell this fund. It is a small/mid value fund, which I like. It gives me international exposure to that asset class, which I like. Tillinghast is either a very good investor, or a very lucky one.

I really appreciated that during the dot com crash in 2001, it held up extremely well, so it's proven to be a good diversifier (although it didn't hold up in 2007, matching the S&P 500's loss). Funny, I remember reading on the Morningstar/Fidelity discussion forum in '98/'99, people expressing dissatisfaction with this fund, since it wasn't matching the 20% annual returns of the SP500 in the late '90s. But I held on ...