Investing my HSA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
erdo

Investing my HSA

Post by erdo » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:44 pm

Hello all,

I am new to investing in an HSA (my spouse's new employer offers an HDHP). The HSA is invested through Bank of America (this is where the account was automatically set up by the employer). I have done a search and learned a lot about investing an HSA, but still had some questions. Here are the details:

Me: 34
Spouse: 28

Current portfolio mid-6 figures.

1) I know everyone is different, but my wife and I have a preferred allocation of 85% stock/15% bond. I am planning on using the HSA only for future healthcare expenses, and paying cash for any current expenses (or withdrawing from my taxable account if necessary). I was thinking of putting the entire HSA in stock, or is this too risky? Should I consider the HSA as part of my overall portfolio, or consider it separate?

2) We are thinking to get pregnant soon, and I am trying to decide if I should stay with the HDHP for next year or not. What is the best way to calculate this? Our HDHP has an in-network deductible of $3000 and, annual out of pocket max of $6000, and TOTAL Out of Pocket Max of $12,900. The next plan up has a deductible of $1200, annual out of pocket max also of $6000, and a TOTAL out of pocket max of $13,200. The premium for HDHP is $55.72, for the other plan is $98.30. Running the numbers, I think that the HSA makes more sense, as I can cover the deductible with cash if needed but wanted to see what any advice any of you could provide.

3) Here are the available investments, any recommendations?

COLUMBIA SMALL CAP VALUE II R4

COLUMBIA MID CAP GROWTH R4

COLUMBIA CAPITAL MOD AGRSV R4

COLUMBIA GLOBAL STRATEGIC EQ R

COLUMBIA CAPITAL CONSERV R4

COLUMBIA US TREASURY INDEX Z

PIMCO TOTAL RETURN INSTL

PIMCO LOW DURATION INSTL

AMERICAN FUNDS CAPWLD G&I - F2

BLACKROCK EQUITY DIVIDEND K