Vanguard Target Fund Changes

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
cavman22

Vanguard Target Fund Changes

Post by cavman22 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:58 pm

Hello,

I'm new here, but I've been reading the forum for over a year. I've picked up a lot of advice here and it's helped change "my ways". I'm probably not quite a boglehead but working toward it.

I'm 31, married, 1 child, and work for a fortune 100 company outside Denver, CO. Our company offers several funds through Vanguard and matches 50% of 6%. I've been doing that or more for the 5 years I've been here(Currently @ 12% + Match).

Anyway, long story short, I logged into Vanguard yesterday and noticed my investments had been exchanged from Target Retirement 2050 to Target Retire 2050 Trust II. Does anyone know anything about the change? I do see that the expense ratios went form .16 to .08, which is good, and the allocation's are almost identical. I didn't know if it's because i hit some type of milestone (Also coincidentally hit $50K mark in that particular account, same time) or if they just changed all of their target funds? I've had zero communication from Vanguard

Did this happen to anyone else?

Thanks, look forward to being a contributor here.

ofckrupke

Re: Vanguard Target Fund Changes

Post by ofckrupke » Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:41 pm

Welcome.

Your employer evidently changed its plan to use Vanguard-managed Collective Investment Trusts (CITs) for its target-date investment menu instead of mutual funds.

CITs operate a little differently from mutual funds in that they don't cast off dividends - the value per investment unit or share just increases
faster than the share price on the corresponding mutual fund's shares, by the amount of internal re-investment made possible by retaining