Military: Investing a Windfall in Expensive Market?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
TheCav14

Military: Investing a Windfall in Expensive Market?

Post by TheCav14 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:53 am

All,

I'm a 27 y/o Army officer currently deployed to South Korea. My expenses are very low and my pay is a little higher, so in addition to my normal monthly dollar cost averaging which goes directly into my Vanguard Roth IRA and my Govt Roth TSP C/S funds, I've built up a smallish pile of cash, about $8000 in the past few months. I have an extremely low interest USAA loan (0.75%) that I utilized to buy my used Honda when I was a Firstie (senior) at West Point in 2014. I've paid that loan down to about $8000 over the past few years. I'm feeling very torn between finishing off this loan and investing in taxable VTSMX/VTSAX. I'm torn because the interest rate on the loan is so low that it doesn't make much sense to pay off, but at the same time the stock market is very expensive now with PE ratios near historic highs. Thoughts?

Note: My goal is to earn the greatest possible return in the long term which will allow me to retire early at 50. I've never sold an investment and I don't plan on doing so until I start withdrawing in retirement. I'm a huge believer in http://jlcollinsnh.com/manifesto/

Your time is much appreciated.

EDIT: I've come to the decision to just pay off the loan and be done with it. I'll be happy to DCA the $350 a month into my taxable account instead of paying it to USAA. I think I can live with not pumping the $8k into the market right now. Thanks for all of your time and responses!
Last edited by TheCav14 on Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

ThrustVectoring

Re: Military: Investing a Windfall in Expensive Market?

Post by ThrustVectoring » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:58 am

23 years to go, 0.75% interest rate, secure military job.