New Job, First Time Investing, How-To

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
error

New Job, First Time Investing, How-To

Post by error » Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:46 pm

Originally posted here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=226104&p=3531855#p3531855
I just started a new job(September) and have no investments of any kind. I will be making ~80k a year, I majored in Computer Science to give you an idea of my earning potential. As suggested by a user I started a Roth 401k to take advantage of my lower tax bracket for this year. I opened a Roth IRA with vanguard, it has $0 at the moment. I am maxing my 401k contributions (40% max per pay period) and have 100% match up to 6% with true-up. I also have an HSA that I am maxing out(about $550 per pay period).

Emergency Funds:: Yes
Debt: None
Tax Filing Status: Single
Federal Tax Rate: For this year I should be 15%, next year 25%
State Tax Rate: For this year I estimate 3%, next year 5.5%
State of Residence: CT
Desired Asset Allocation: 80+%? stocks /20-%? Bonds
Desired International Allocation: ?

Size of Current Portfolio: 0$

Current Retirement Assets
401k (Roth)

80% S&P 500, Expense Ratio: 0.05%
20% Intermediate Government Bond Index Fund, Expense Ratio: 0.08%
Match: 100% up to 6%

Roth IRA at Vanguard
Nothing allocated, I will probably put in $5500

Contributions
I don't have exact figures. Paid bi-weekly I will experience 8 pay periods this year. Each pay period $550 is deducted an placed in HSA. 40% of pay is placed in r401k. I estimate about 23k income before anything taken out. which means about 3k per pay period. I estimate 18,726 after taking into account HSA and benefits. 18,726 * 0.4 = 7,490 (estimated r401k contribution for the year)

I want to put $5500 into rIRA

Questions
1. See my previous thread for the long version: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=226104&p=3531855#p3531855