Allocation across multiple 401ks and a possible rollover to IRA situation - Help needed

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
dalekinvades

Allocation across multiple 401ks and a possible rollover to IRA situation - Help needed

Post by dalekinvades » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:27 am

Hello Boggleheads

I have been reading these forums and the wiki for a while and this is my first time asking a question. Thanks in advance for your inputs.<br/>

We have a 401k plan at my workplace and also at my wife's work. Both have index funds selection across all asset classes with low expense ratios. Currently I use mirror allocation method in both plans

I am switching jobs and now have the option to rollover my 401k to the new employer, leave it with previous employer (no loans) or move it to a new IRA.

My previous employer's 401k
- $33,000
- no further contributions accepted
Fund Ticker ER Allocation
FID 500 INDEX FUSVX 0.035% 48%
FID MID CAP IDX FSCKX 0.05% 11%
FID SM CAP IDX FSSVX 0.05% 9%
FID INTL INDEX FSIVX 0.06% 22%
FID US BOND IDX FSITX 0.045% 10%

My wife's employer's 401k
- $1,000
- set up to contribute $17k more in 2017
Fund Ticker ER Allocation
FID 500 INDEX INST FXSIX 0.03% 48%
VANG MIDCAP IDX ADM VIMAX 0.06% 11%
VANG SM CAP IDX ADM VSMAX 0.06% 9%
VANG DEV MKT IDX ADM VTMGX 0.07% 22%
VANG TOT BD MKT ADM VBTLX 0.05% 10%

New Employer's 401k
- yet to contribute
- eligible to contribute 6k for 2017
The new employer's 401k is with Vanguard and has very good index funds for S&P 500, medium cap and bonds. I don't see any index fund option for international stocks. Also, the index funds for small cap is skewed heavily towards growth.

Vanguard Institutional Index Fund Institutional Plus Shares S&P 500 VIIIX 0.02%
Vanguard Mid-Cap Index Fund Institutional Plus Shares VMCPX 0.04%
Vanguard Small-Cap Growth Index Fund Institutional Shares VSGIX 0.06%
Vanguard International Growth Fund Admiral Shares VWILX 0.33%