ETF vs Index mutual fund for taxable account

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
reaper070

ETF vs Index mutual fund for taxable account

Post by reaper070 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:17 pm

Hello Bogleheads,

I am 26 years old and currently working at a company that does not offer a 401k Plan. I have been maxing out my Roth IRA for past 2 years at Fidelity using the following allocation.

60% US total stock market (FSTMX)
30% Total international stock market (IXUS)
10 % Total Bond market index (AGG)

Since, I do not have a 401k Plan offered at work, I was planning on opening a Taxable account to supplement my Roth IRA.
For the taxable account, I am planning to fill it with U.S Total stock market index, since it is the most tax efficient. My question is should I go for an index fund or an ETF ? Which one is more tax efficient among the two ?

Thanks!

alex_686

Re: ETF vs Index mutual fund for taxable account

Post by alex_686 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:19 pm

ETFs are more tax efficient than mutual funds. FYI, Vanguard funds have both mutual fund and ETF share classes so they get the best of both worlds.

livesoft

Post by livesoft » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:27 pm

Most ETFs are index funds. The F in ETF is "fund".

It turns out some index ETFs are less tax efficient than some index mutual funds and vice versa. And it can depend on your tax bracket.

See also:
https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/ETFs_vs_mutual_funds

The differences in taxes can be so insignificant that the price one pays for an ETF share on any given day at any give hour could overshadow any tax differences. And that goes for commissions, but if you have to pay a commission, then there is probably a better way to do what you are doing.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.

JBTX

Post by JBTX » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:34 pm

reaper070 wrote:
Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:17 pm
Hello Bogleheads,