taxable accounts

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
lmk1966

taxable accounts

Post by lmk1966 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:11 am

Help Please ...

What do I need to now about taxable accounts and any suggestions welcome.
I have my 403b maxed, 457 plan not good options (long story, explored it, etc), Can NOT open HSA because of low deductible and does not make scene to change insurance plan to higher deductible just to open HSA..
Have money in ALLY bank making 1.15% but also have some money in regular Bank of America saving account that makes me" nothing"..

No debt, other then 2 mortgages (will keep this way even that probably can pay off condo around $150k mortgage left).
Have townhouse too with mortgage. Selling at this time NOT an option.

Husband died 1 y ago (no $ left after his death, no 401k, no saving, nothing...had to pick up from ground zero and currently relying on my self)..
Luckily I am a physician but already 51 yo and started not long ago, also not the highest paying specialty
Have 1 son and as I get older, worry about future.
I am NOT a spender.

Taxable account suggestions please. Reading everything.
Open Vanguard taxable account with help of their "customer service"? What I need to now first?
Suggestions? Options? Anything welcome.
Thank you

welderwannabe

Re: taxable accounts

Post by welderwannabe » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:25 am

Hard to tell from you post whether you have 2 mortgages + a third mortgage on a townhouse, or if the townhouse was included in the 2 mortgages you mentioned.

Paying off the mortgage is always a good risk free method of getting some return.

However, if you heart is set on a taxable account then Vanguard is the best choice. They have a great selection of low expense tax efficient funds.

lmk1966

Post by lmk1966 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:40 am