Australian superannuation - advice for a beginner

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
AlBorland

Australian superannuation - advice for a beginner

Post by AlBorland » Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:06 pm

Hi all,

I am new to investing but have been trying to learn as much as possible over the last few months by reading the forum and other Boglehead resources, so many thanks for making this insightful info available.

My question relates to superannuation in Australia. I have decided to take a new approach with my super (focussing on low cost index funds), but would like to know if you think my proposed approach (described in detail below) seems reasonable….

Proposed approach:
1. Fund: AustralianSuper (using pre-mixed investment options)
2. Contributions: max out pre-tax contributions (25k/year)
3. Asset allocation:
(a) Indexed Diversified fund – 70% of total contributions - this is a pure index fund (29% Australian shares; 35% international shares; 6% listed property; 20% fixed interest; 10% cash) AND
(b) Balanced fund – 30% of total contributions - this fund is actively managed (24% Australian shares, 31% international shares, 9% direct property, 10% infrastructure, 4% private equity, 10% credit, 7% fixed interest, 5% cash)
4. Fees: Admin fee $78/year; contribution splitting fee $70/year; management fees (0.1% for Indexed Diversified portion, 0.57% for Balanced portion)

Justification:
1. I chose AustralianSuper after reviewing industry funds that offer indexed options (e.g. SunSuper, Hostplus, First State). While AustralianSuper option wasn’t my preferred in terms of investment options, I’ve decided to go with them based on insurance reasons.