Roth Conversion Help

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
tman9940

Roth Conversion Help

Post by tman9940 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:12 pm

I am thinking about converting my traditional IRA to my Roth. I've never done this before. Trying to figure out if it is worth it. I am currently 31. If I read correctly, there is no 10% penalty for an "early withdrawal" since the traditional will be converted? When and how do you pay the tax on the conversion? When the money is converted, is it transferred into my existing Roth IRA or does it become a separate account? My traditional is significantly smaller than my Roth. I currently have VISGX (Small Cap Growth) in my Traditional. Does that fund go into my Roth, or does the money go to the existing fund (VTSAX) in my Roth? I'm sure I have more questions, but this is all I can think of at this time. Thanks for any and all info! Trying to see if this would be worth it, and would love some people with similar experience to chime in. Thanks!!

FiveK

Re: Roth Conversion Help

Post by FiveK » Sun Jul 16, 2017 11:16 pm

tman9940 wrote:When and how do you pay the tax on the conversion?
The amount converted is treated as ordinary income, so you add that to whatever else you earn this year and pay tax on all of it.

Because the converted amount comes on top of your other earnings you would likely pay your highest tax rate on that amount. Consequently, for most people doing Roth conversions while working is not a good idea. But it depends on your specific situation.

See Traditional versus Roth - Bogleheads for more.

celia

Post by celia » Mon Jul 17, 2017 2:18 am

tman9940 wrote:If I read correctly, there is no 10% penalty for an "early withdrawal" since the traditional will be converted?