What is a typical (ballpark) AA for age 65?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
spdoublebass

What is a typical (ballpark) AA for age 65?

Post by spdoublebass » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:19 pm

I've read the wiki and searched the forum, I know this is a loaded question. Im not asking for peoples individual take, but rather what is a BH approach to an AA at 65?

I'm still new at this and have been trying to figure out a beginning stock/bond AA im comfortable with. I think what might help me out is knowing where people typically end up at 65.

In the target date funds with Vanguard they have you roughly at 87/13 at age 40, 64/36 age 55, and 44/56 at age 65. Then in "retirement" they suggest 30/70. They do not add tips until roughly age 60.

I'm 34, I am ok with age - 10 in bonds. But that would put me at 45/55 at age 65.
For myself at this moment, I'm even ok with 90/10 because I've just started out.

So, to be clear, I'd be curious if people recommend following vanguards path, or if there are other ways of looking at it.
I think knowing where to end up at 65 would help me decide on where to start.
Last edited by spdoublebass on Sat Jul 15, 2017 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resist much, obey little.

whodidntante

Re: What is a typical (ballpark) AA for age 65?

Post by whodidntante » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:21 pm

I think using the glide path from target date funds as guidance is reasonable. You wouldn't go far wrong by doing exactly what they do.

KlangFool

Post by KlangFool » Sat Jul 15, 2017 12:32 pm

OP,

Some of the questions that you should ask

1) How likely that you will work until 65 years old? At age 34, this is 31 years into the future. Personally, I would not assume that I could see that far into the future. So, I would probably take a safer assumption like I would retire in 20 years like 55 years old.

2) How much would the pension and/or social security cover your annual expense? 50%? 10%?