Just a little help.

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Investment17

Just a little help.

Post by Investment17 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:56 pm

I'm new to all this. 6 months in. ETF stocks, bonds etc

I have a Roth IRA and a taxable account. I already have liquid saved so I use my taxable as 60/40 semi savings, and my Roth as my 90/10 retirement. I put a little in each in week.

Right now I have about 3000 in my taxable and 2400 in my Roth.

My question is, does it make sense for me to have it like this, or should I be pulling the money out of my taxable and basically maxing out my Roth right now for the year? Am I essentially losing out on gains by now having it all in my Roth? Should I take it out and then max it out, and just put money for the rest of the year into my taxable?

My concern with that is, my taxable account is for money that I might actually wanna take out in the next 5 years. My Roth is for money I don't wanna touch for another 30 years.

As you can see, deff new at this.

Thanks

arcticpineapplecorp.

Re: Just a little help.

Post by arcticpineapplecorp. » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:49 pm

I don't understand. Wasn't this question already answered in your previous post?:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=212378&p=3259418#p3259418

Did you not get the answers to your question? There was lots of good information already given in that post. I think they were saying to focus on maxing out the Roth. One poster said that was the priority. So why would you sell taxable investments to fund the Roth? There's many months left in the year (and up to tax day next year to max the Roth). Can't you get that done with new contributions between now and then?

If you post in the following format, you might get better answers:

viewtopic.php?t=6212
Last edited by arcticpineapplecorp. on Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.