TSP and Vanguard Roth

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Blue14

TSP and Vanguard Roth

Post by Blue14 »

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to this whole investing thing but I am trying to put as much money into retirement accounts as I can. Currently, I'm eligible for a TSP but I have not set one up yet. I do however have an Vanguard Roth and a Vanguard Total Stock Market Index Fund Admiral Shares account. Should I open up a TSP to maximize my contributions to retirement accounts? If so, which fund should I select and what is the max that I can contributed on top of the maxed out Vanguard Roth (so I don't get tax penalties)?

Thanks for the advice!
tigermilk

Re: TSP and Vanguard Roth

Post by tigermilk »

You should contribute to at least the agency matching and you can contribute up to $18k/year in the TSP (unless you are turning 50 this year in which case it's more). You can contribute that Max as well as max your Roth at Vanguard. Depending on your tax bracket you may want the Roth TSP (don't confuse the TSP and Vanguard Roths). For the funds, that depends on your own timeline, risk, etc.
dharrythomas

Post by dharrythomas »

Unless you are in the military and are ineligible for the match, you should set up TSP contributions IMMEDIATELY. By immediately, I mean tonight or tomorrow. The TSP matches the first 5% of your salary that you contribute. You should do this right away so as not to miss another pay period.

The minimum you should contribute is 5% of your salary to get the complete match (free money). After that if you have more that you can dedicate to retirement, either higher TSP contributions or either a Roth or Traditional IRA are done depending on your preferences and AGI.

Good luck.
dharrythomas

Post by dharrythomas »

Sorry I missed these two questions.

The max you can contribute to the TSP is $18K.