Thoughts on FHLC [Fidelity MSCI Health Care Index]

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
katwillny

Thoughts on FHLC [Fidelity MSCI Health Care Index]

Post by katwillny »

With all the renewed talks about healthcare reform and more importantly with the aging baby boomer generation I am thinking of investing a small percentage of my Roth IRA into this fund. I work in healthcare IT and I see how healthcare companies are changing processes to optimize earnings. The amount of money that goes into healthcare yearly is astronomical and its only going to go back.
Thoughts please.

Kat!!
Vanguard Fan 1367

Re: Thoughts on FHLC

Post by Vanguard Fan 1367 »

My thoughts are that it might work out well. I like the low expense ratio of .084 %. Johnson and Johnson stock has been very good to my family and I notice that is the largest holding of FHLC.

After reading John Bogle I appreciate the simplicity of something like the Total Stock Market or the S & P 500 and just holding on to it. But I am sorry that I sold my Johnson and Johnson, I had those nasty capital gains taxes to pay and lost the nice annual dividend percentage.
John Bogle: "It's amazing how difficult it is for a man to understand something if he's paid a small fortune not to understand it."
LadyGeek
Site Admin

Re: Thoughts on FHLC [Fidelity MSCI Health Care Index]

Post by LadyGeek »

This thread is now in the Investing - Help with Personal Investments forum (portfolio help). I also retitled the thread to help with the stock ticker.

Here's the fund info: FHLC | ETF Snapshot - Fidelity

Remember that the market is several steps ahead of you. Any effects due to what "might" happen is already reflected in the stock price.

Would you like some help to figure out what to invest in? Take your time and do some reading.

Start here: Getting started