Helping a Beginner Investor Create a Portfolio

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Ehoustman

Helping a Beginner Investor Create a Portfolio

Post by Ehoustman »

Hello everyone,

I just joined the forum after reading through some of the threads on here, and am eager to get some advice!

I've been contributing to my 401k for about 3 years (ever since I got my first job after college). Since I know very little about investing I opted for the 2055 Target in Vanguard. I now have a small chunk of money ($2k) that I want to throw into some index funds rather than have them sit idly in a savings. I signed up for a SCHWAB account and would like to implement the three fund portfolio strategy. Based off what I've read here it sounds like the ideal portfolio would include the following indexes:

VTSMX Vanguard total stock
VGTSX Vanguard total international
VBMFX Vanguard total bonds

However, these funds each require a $3k initial investment, meaning that I would need $9k to get the portfolio I want. I'm wondering if it would be wise to invest my $2k into the SCHWAB equivalents (SWTSX, SWISX, SWLBX) for the time being, since they are low cost and free to trade? I plan to add funds monthly (anywhere from $200-$500 a month). Then when I have enough I can convert over to the Vanguard funds.

The other thing I'm curious about is if any of you out there have suggestions /strategies for short term investments (3-5 years) to save for large down payments? i look forward to any advice! Thanks a bunch!
PFInterest

Re: Helping a Beginner Investor Create a Portfolio

Post by PFInterest »

are you maxing out your 401k?
any of the large brokerages are fine.
you also dont need to nitpick a portfolio that small in terms of getting the exact ratios from the get go.
Nate79

Post by Nate79 »

Do you have an emergency fund? Maxing out 401k? Maxing out a Roth IRA?
TheAlaskan

Post by TheAlaskan »