Can I Use a 529 Account to Pay for Multiple Computing Devices

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
OSUBucks4Evr

Can I Use a 529 Account to Pay for Multiple Computing Devices

Post by OSUBucks4Evr » Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:22 am

Bogleheads,

My apologies for this post being so long. I am not good at being succinct.

My question is whether 529 dollars can be used to pay for the purchase of multiple computing devices (an iPad mini and a laptop) for the same student. In this case, they will be purchased in the same year.

This fall, my daughter starts (full time) her freshman year at a public university in our state. The nursing program she’s in REQUIRES all first-year students to purchase an iPad mini with keyboard (the College of Nursing designs standardized content, assignments and apps for the iPad mini, and because of its small size, it’s also approved for use at clinical sites). At a recent parent/student orientation, a parent asked if the iPad mini is the only electronic device nursing students will need. The orientation speaker said it is recommended, but not required, that students also have a regular laptop, and gave the example that trying to type a multi-page paper on an iPad mini keyboard is difficult.