Edward Jones, American Funds, Fiduciary Rule changes

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
pollywog75

Edward Jones, American Funds, Fiduciary Rule changes

Post by pollywog75 »

Hello,

I am new to investing and very limited knowledge (40 yo, currently stay-at home mom). When I left my last job about 5 years ago, I was required to rollover my ESOP into an IRA, which I did with Edward Jones. I invested about $200k into American Funds with an upfront load of about 3 - 3.5% ( I don't have the info in front of me).

I received a call from my advisor today, as others have on this forum, saying that with the new Fiduciary Rule my current Am Funds will be essentially frozen (my words) and "grandfathered" in but I can no longer make changes to it or add to it after Fri. He advised that I roll the entire portfolio into a fee-based one called Guided Solutions before Fri's rule change.

I felt disappointed that the services I paid for with the upfront fees of the Am Funds will no longer be honored, such as a no-fee asset allocation changes. I initially decided to go with these A shares thinking I wouldn't have to pay anymore fees on my investments. Now the Guided Solutions portfolio Edward Jones is offering will have a 1.35% monthly fee, which looks ugly based on other posts in this forum.

Should I just let my portfolio sit as-is for the next 10-15 years or move it into a new IRA with another company and lose out on the upfront fees I paid 5 years ago? Thanks for your time & talents!
Avo

Re: Edward Jones, American Funds, Fiduciary Rule changes

Post by Avo »

Welcome to the forum.

Your upfront fees are gone. I'm sorry to say that they bought you nothing of value. You are continuing to pay overly high expense ratios on the funds themselves.