Personal Capital - Phone Discussion

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
FootballFan5548

Personal Capital - Phone Discussion

Post by FootballFan5548 »

I've read some people on here use Personal Capital as the dashboard to track all investments. I've been doing that for a few months and it's been a great tool, I'm very happy with it and it certainly makes life easier to track net worth, total portfolio performance and allocation across platforms.

I just got off the phone with a very nice personal capital investment rep. He was professional, patient with my questions, and seemed to have a very good plan in place. He had a very thorough and detailed presentation, which was better put together than any of the other investment people I've talked to over the years.

He wasn't pushing too hard as a salesman, but of course he did mention the .89% annual fee they charge for assets under management.

I know the Boglehead mentality is to avoid advisors like the plague, but I wanted to ask if anyone here has had an experience using personal capital advisors and if they would recommend them going forward. I plan to keep using the dashboard either way.

For scale - it would be roughly $500k in after tax (brokerage) amount.

Thanks so much.
Gufomel

Re: Personal Capital - Phone Discussion

Post by Gufomel »

What value will they give you to justify the .89% fee?
pierremonfrere

Post by pierremonfrere »

Did anything they mention in their presentation seem like it was worth $4,450 per year?
Do you think you are capable of managing that money yourself?

I don't think they would add enough value to make it worth it.
Topic Author
FootballFan5548