Maximize number of ETFs in taxable account to maximize Tax Loss Harvesting opportunities?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
buffalo

Maximize number of ETFs in taxable account to maximize Tax Loss Harvesting opportunities?

Post by buffalo »

I'm just getting started with taxable investing and want to see if I'm on the right track:

I'll be investing with Merrill Edge and will have access to 100 commission-free ETF trades per month, way more than I'll ever need.

Rather than put everything into VT, the Vanguard Total World Stock ETF, does it make more sense to achieve the same asset allocation with the maximum number of ETFs, so that I can later tax loss harvest as individual ETFs decline?

So, instead of just VT, invest in a combination of:

MGK - Mega Cap Growth and
MGV - Mega Cap Value
which can swap back and forth to MGC - Mega Cap

VOT - Mid Cap Growth and
VOE - Mid Cap Value
which can swap back and forth to VO - Mid Cap

VBK - Small Cap Growth and
VBR - Small Cap Value
which can swap back and forth to VB - Small Cap

VGK - FTSE Europe and
VPL - FTSE Pacific and
VWO - Emerging Markets and
VNQI - Global ex-US Real Estate
which can swap back and forth to VEU - FTSE All World ex-US or other international ETFs

If the concept is sound, but you have different recommendations for ETFs to use, please share. And if I'm totally off base, please set me straight. Thanks.
mhc

Re: Maximize number of ETFs in taxable account to maximize Tax Loss Harvesting opportunities?

Post by mhc »

The concept is viable, but it is way more work than I would want to do.
52% TSM, 23% TISM, 24.5% TBM, 0.5% cash
David Jay

Re: Maximize number of ETFs in taxable account to maximize Tax Loss Harvesting opportunities?

Post by David Jay »