Roth vs pre-tax with higher income in the future

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
diverdoc

Roth vs pre-tax with higher income in the future

Post by diverdoc » Wed May 17, 2017 5:48 pm

Greetings,

I'm new to the Bogleheads forum but wanted to see if anyone might have some advice to help my wife and I as we start planning for retirement. After reviewing the articles and forum posts I hadn't seen something quite similar to our situation. I'm currently active duty in the Navy as a doctor (pre-residency) and my wife is entering residency this coming July as a civilian. We have estimated expenses of about $66k a year with a take-home pay of $145k-$160k over the next three years but with a taxable income of $90k-$130k combined (due to Navy tax-free entitlements). We would like to have 3 months expenses for an emergency fund given our essentially stable jobs and save up for a 20% house down payment anywhere from $60k-$100k depending on where we end up moving in three years to continue our post-graduate training. We obviously know that we will significantly higher earners upon completing our training over the next 10 years. Typically the adage is the put Roth money away when your income taxes are low, however as I've been reading on the articles and forum posts here, there's a possibility of being in a lower tax bracket (especially for early retirees) or ideally in the same tax bracket as we currently are in at 25%.