New Graduate w/ Large Loans & New Job - Options

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Here2LearnMore

New Graduate w/ Large Loans & New Job - Options

Post by Here2LearnMore »

Hello everyone, I am new to much of this and trying to wrap my head around a series of factors regarding my financial future. I am 25 years old and just finishing up a graduate program. I have taken on very large federal student loans. Recently, I have been lurking these forums and have found some great information but am having trouble weighing all the factors in my personal situation outlined below regarding a position I will be taking upon graduation.

Federal Loans: $240,000 @ 6.8%
Base Initial Salary: $90,000 (with room to grow)
Possible Bonus Incentive: 9% of Salary
Stock Purchase Plan: Up to 15% of Salary @ 85% of Fair Market Value (purchased company and can be sold immediately after purchase I believe)
The stock appears to have steadily increased over 20 years and is currently at an all-time high
401k: Company Matches 75% of first $6,000 you contribute ($4500)
Current Saving: $10,000

I am unsure as to how much to allocate towards these incentives (if not maxing them) verses paying the loans as fast as possible. I am also not sure exactly which federal repayment plan makes the most sense. PAYE seems risky as I believe my salary could reach 120-150 over 20 years and I would be relying on federal laws remaining unchanged. I apologize for any obvious oversights, I am still trying to understand all the plans in conjunction with the information listed above. Thanks!
LeeMKE

Re: New Graduate w/ Large Loans & New Job - Options

Post by LeeMKE »

That debt is pretty hefty, but you are young, so you have the grace of some time.