HDHP with HSA in Teachers' Contract

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
Goinganontoday

HDHP with HSA in Teachers' Contract

Post by Goinganontoday »

I would appreciate help in creating some questions that would assist me and my colleagues in evaluating a potential change to our contract. My teachers' union is seeking to open up the contract in order to change the current PPO insurance to a HDHP with HSA in exchange for a guaranteed 1% increase in salary for the year after the current contract would have ended. There will be a meeting/presentation to answer questions prior to the vote. While I have some basic knowledge of HSAs, I want to make sure that I am prepared to ask questions that will best help me to evaluate the options.

What questions would you ask in this situation and/or what information would you still require? The basic information that we have been given so far is below.

1. Deductible of $2000/$4000. District to pay $1000 towards deductible.
2. Max out of pocket is $4000/$8000.
3. 80/20 copayment after deductible.

We have not been provided information about the premiums. We do not know which company will be administering the HSA (any good/bad ones to look out for??).
rooms222

Re: HDHP with HSA in Teachers' Contract

Post by rooms222 »

Our union was forced to have everyone move to an HDHP with HSA eligibility. You should seek to have the deductibles be the minimum allowed under the IRS rules- $1300 self/$2600 family, subject to annual IRS adjustments for inflation. I think our OOP maximums are $2600 self and $4600 family (Blue Cross website is on maintenance mode so I can´t check). We have 10% coinsurance after deductible.