Questions to Start

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Reilyx

Questions to Start

Postby Reilyx » Sat May 13, 2017 10:13 am

Background: I am a medical resident with another two years until I am finished with my training. My current saving ability is low, but I have tried to get into the practice of putting something away with regularity. Obviously, I am at the beginning of the race, but I want to start strong so I can end strong.

Emergency Fund: 3 months of expenses
Debt: med school loans ~$150,000 (6.8%) not in repayment, will refinance when I am
Tax filing: married filing jointly, no dependents
Tax Bracket: 25% federal, 5.75% state
Residence: Virginia
Desired asset allocation: 70/30
International: 33%

Her taxable account at Scwhab: $30,000
75% Exxon Stock (XOM)

Her Roth IRA at Schwab: $5,000
12.5% Schwab S&P 500 Index Fund (SWPPX) 0.03%

His Roth IRA at Schwab: $5,000
12.5% Schwab Fundamental US Large Company Index Fund (SFLNX) 0.25%

New annual contributions:
$1000 to His IRA from income
$400 to Her IRA from income
$600 from XOM dividends to Her IRA

Further explanation:
I set up the Roth IRAs while I was still in medical school because I just felt like I needed something but I did not know what I was doing. I have since tried to educate myself and improve my portfolio. Money in the Roth accounts is thus what I have been able to save while a student and resident.

The taxable account is from my father-in-law that has been in my wife's name since she was born. This is what he decided to do for his children as a financial boost to their adult lives. His philosophy is put all your money in a few blue chip stocks and let em ride. I obviously have some reservations with this approach. Nevertheless, what's done is done and that money is there now.