The problem of choosing the best MSCI World ETF

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
googel

The problem of choosing the best MSCI World ETF

Post by googel » Tue May 09, 2017 3:45 pm

I'm a European investor wanting to invest in a physical accumulating ETF which tracks the MSCI World Index. As I'm an ETF noob, I'm having a hard time deciding which ETF to invest in. I have narrowed my choices to three candidates:

Amundi ETF MSCI World UCITS ETF DR (MWRD)
LU1437016972
TER 0.18%
Full replication

db x-trackers MSCI World Index UCITS ETF (DR) 1C (XDWD)
IE00BJ0KDQ92
TER 0.19%
Physical (Optimized sampling) replication

iShares Core MSCI World UCITS ETF (EUNL)
IE00B4L5Y983
TER 0.20%
Physical (Optimized sampling) replication

The fact that MWRD has the lowest expense ratio makes it very tempting. Another benefit for MWRD is the fact that it utilizes full replication which, in theory, should make it track the index better. Do you think I should go for MWRD or instead go for XDWD or EUNL for some reason other than TER? Obviously the other two have more assets under management which is an advantage.

BeBH65

Re: The problem of choosing the best MSCI World ETF

Post by BeBH65 » Tue May 09, 2017 4:37 pm

Hi Googel,

The Amundi fund is a domiciled in Luxembourg, the others in Ireland.
Irish funds are more often discussed here, not sure if Luxembourg has the same advantageous tax treatment.

Have you checked if you can buy all of the funds; I.e. Does your broker offer cheap access to the relevant stock exchange? Please note that the ishares fund can be bought as IWDA or SWDA on other exchanges.

In what currency will you be buying, is the fund offered in that trading currency?

I had a look at the KIID on justetf, and the factsheets on Morningstar:
- The two first funds seem fairly new; Morningstar comments on it.