Retire By 40?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
QueenB

Retire By 40?

Post by QueenB »

I'm 19 going on 20. I just got a job offering lots of benefits including a 401k, I'm extremely new to investing, stocks and bonds. Not sure where to start and who to listen to, where should my money be going?i don't have a large income coming in, trying to move into an apartment while still being able to save a large portion of my income for retirement.
MNGopher

Re: Retire By 40?

Post by MNGopher »

If you plan to work for only 20 years, you not only have to cover your current living expenses, but also fund what could be a 50+ year retirement. You are going to need:

1. A good income
2. Live extremely frugally
3. Very good investment returns

While not impossible, it will be very difficult. Starting young is a great first step.
TravelGeek

Post by TravelGeek »

What's driving the goal of retiring by 40?

Welcome to Bogleheads.org!
bloom2708

Post by bloom2708 »

When you know them, list the available funds and their expense ratios in your 401k.

Save 40-50% of your income for 20 years and see what happens.Don't get caught up in buying stuff and things.

Spending time here will give you ideas and things to ponder.
"We are here to provoke thoughtfulness, not agree with you." Unknown Boglehead
Finance-MD

Post by Finance-MD »

Assuming your expenses don't change, you need to save ~36% of your income annually and earn standard market returns of 7% for the next 21 years; you can then live off of 4% annually which backtested should last you 30 years; with a 3% withdrawal rate, this should last for perpetuity, but you will need to save 42% of your income.

https://networthify.com/calculator/earl ... awalRate=4

Please read the wiki for info on investing -- but a simple vanguard target date retirement fund for a Roth IRA or a basic 3 fund portfolio in your work retirement is a great place to start.