Neophyte Boglehead Humbly Requests 403(b) Allocation Input

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
wjthornberry

Neophyte Boglehead Humbly Requests 403(b) Allocation Input

Post by wjthornberry » Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:32 am

Hello, dear Bogleheads,

I'm looking for help with the allocation of my—very new—403(b) account. I'm relatively new to investing, am halfway through Graham's classic, have familiarized myself on a very basic level with this amazing website and am looking forward to really digging into it in the coming weeks, months, and years to learn as much as I can; for the moment, though, I'd like to request some pointers to get my portfolio in shape. But before I begin, I'd like to offer my sincere thanks to Laura for those helpful, well-written, and warm welcome posts, as well as the book recommendations, which were duly noted and promptly added to my library list. Update: I'd also like to thank retiredjg, ruralavalon, and aristotelian for their thoughtful feedback.

What follows is my current and, per Boglehead guidelines, pertinent information:

Emergency funds: Current: $1K; Goal: $6K (update: per feedback, I'll put this toward paying down my first priority, credit card debt)
    Debt:

$7K credit at 19.99%, $3K at 0% (balance transfer) — currently applying “avalanche” method; on-track to pay off Aug. 2018 (this is my first priority)
      $20K student loans at 2.65%—6.88%; on-track to pay off Aug. 2020* (update: will apply the "avalanche" method to these debts, as well, by tackling the highest-rate loans first)
      *New job in November 2017 will significantly lower both of the above target dates to 2018 year end.
    Tax Filing Status: Single
    Tax Rate: 15% Federal*, State: 3.75%
    *New job in November 2017 will place me in 25% Federal, State: 3.75%
    State of Residence: IL
    Desired Asset allocation: 70% equity:30% bonds
    Desired International allocation: 40% of equity