Should I bother with a 401k at present?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
geologist20

Should I bother with a 401k at present?

Postby geologist20 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:22 am

Considering my current financial situation, does it make sense to put money into a 401k now? I am a 31 year old male with a wife and 2 year old and newborn due in November this year. I currently work as a geologist in an environmental consulting company. Current salary is around 55,000. I live in Florida, so I don't pay state income tax.

My current goals are to build a nine month emergency fund and to pay down a significant portion of debt over the next year.
Current savings: $4889 ($8654 including health savings account)
Current debt total: $38,000, consisting of a personal loan, credit cards, and student loans. I don't have any debt above 14% interest, I balance transfer credit cards to avoid paying the high interest rates.

The savings focus is so I have funds available for potential emergencies (e.g. replacing an old car which is 9 years old/repairs to car, medical emergencies, loss of job, stuff for new baby due later this year).

I think the debt goal is self-explanatory. I'm aiming to save at least $600 per month and total debt payments are around $700 per month. The highest debt currently is a 13.99% loan. Student loans are 6% or less. Credit cards are low interest, I use balance transfers to avoid paying 25% interest.

Considering my current financial situation, it doesn't really make sense to worry about a 401k. It doesn't help me if my wife or myself become unemployed, it doesn't help purchase items for the new baby due in November and I'll save more over the long term paying down debt vs the return on a 401k. Is there any reason to put money into a 401k at present?