I bonds May 2017

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
robertmcd

I bonds May 2017

Postby robertmcd » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:07 am

So what is the current state of I bonds right now? Should I wait to buy my $10,000 in May? I have never used them before but I am currently putting away funds in CDs for a house downpayment in the next 2-7 years and I am wondering if they are a good deal.

Grt2bOutdoors

Re: I bonds May 2017

Postby Grt2bOutdoors » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:11 am

If you buy in April you will get a fixed rate of 0% + a variable inflation rate of 2.76% for the next 6 months - April to October 2017. In November 2017, you will get a rate of 0% fixed + a variable rate of 1.91%, the blended rate is 2.35%. The first twelve months earnings is 2.35%, after that no one knows.
I would buy today or by the end of April 29th instead of waiting to see if the fixed rate might be 0.10% or not.
"One should invest based on their need, ability and willingness to take risk - Larry Swedroe" Asking Portfolio Questions

flamesabers

Postby flamesabers » Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:21 am

Grt2bOutdoors wrote:If you buy in April you will get a fixed rate of 0% + a variable inflation rate of 2.76% for the next 6 months - April to October 2017. In November 2017, you will get a rate of 0% fixed + a variable rate of 1.91%, the blended rate is 2.35%. The first twelve months earnings is 2.35%, after that no one knows.
I would buy today or by the end of April 29th instead of waiting to see if the fixed rate might be 0.10% or not.

I agree. I'll be buying more I-Bonds in the next few days.

DaftInvestor

Postby DaftInvestor » Wed Apr 19, 2017 10:18 am

flamesabers wrote: