29 Year old New Investor Needs help- Vanguard Index Funds

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
jon1212

29 Year old New Investor Needs help- Vanguard Index Funds

Post by jon1212 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 1:07 pm

Hey all,

I am a 29 year old male, and a new investor. I currently just put $200 a month into my betterment account. I am a teacher and I currently make $65,000 per year.

I have started reading Benjamin Graham's Inteligent Investor, and recently I finished The Millionaire Teacher. Long story short, I read that index funds are the best way to go. I was going to invest as Benjamin Graham had suggested into index funds with total us stocks, foreign stocks, and us bonds. However, after realizing that at Vanguard it is a minimum of 3,000 EACH fund I realized I don't want to put that much money in yet.

So, that has lead me to start with $3,000 total. My question is, is my best bet going with the Lifestrategy Growth fund? I am confused because I don't know if I should just start with 3,000 and then put 200 a month into this fund or do something different. My other thought was to buy into divdend stocks. For example AT&T pays a dividend of 4.87% currently. I would be receiving a quarterly check which is cool. Should I go this route instead? Or am I better off just using the Lifestrategy Growth fund? Or, I have been reading about other index funds which pay dividends such as the Wellington fund although there is a higher expense.. can anyone give me advice on what the best thing to do is in my situation?

I am so confused.

Thank you!

RadAudit
Location: Second star on the right and straight on 'til morning

Re: 29 Year old New Investor Needs help- Vanguard Index Funds

Post by RadAudit » Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:05 pm

Welcome to the forum.
jon1212 wrote: My question is, is my best bet going with the Lifestrategy Growth fund?
Check out a Target Date Fund. I think their initial investment level is $1,000.