Is this the right Fund for Metals?

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
leo28

Is this the right Fund for Metals?

Postby leo28 » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:18 pm

Hi,

Im relatively new to investing and recently decided to add precious metals to my portfolio, I was wondering if this is the right fund to go into (VGPMX).

Also, if I wanted to get into gold, what is the best way to do it on Vanguard?

Thanks

Leo

flamesabers

Re: Is this the right Fund for Metals?

Postby flamesabers » Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:29 pm

I think this fund invests in mining companies rather then in actual physical metals. According to its prospectus:

Under normal circumstances, the Fund invests at least 80% of its assets in the stocks of foreign and U.S. companies principally engaged in the exploration, mining, development, fabrication, processing, marketing, or distribution of (or other activities related to) metals or minerals

Here's a thread on this forum concerning your question about gold:

viewtopic.php?t=100800

Pajamas

Postby Pajamas » Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:10 pm

VGPMX may not be what you are really looking for. The investment strategy was expanded beyond a strict focus on precious metals and mining a few years ago, but the top holdings are still concentrated in precious metals and mining. If you want to speculate on gold prices you would do better with an ETF, maybe even a leveraged one.

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/ ... 0053#tab=2

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/FundsS ... IntExt=INT

I can't vouch for the accuracy of this website but it looks like a reasonable place to start research on gold ETFs:

http://etfdb.com/type/commodity/preciou ... /gold-etf/

leo28

Postby leo28 » Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:16 pm

Appreciate the feedback as always, I have done some research on the information provided but I am still not sure what to do if I want to Invest in precious metals, if VGPMX is not right for me, what is?

young-ish