Newbie needs a hand

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
BigSky92

Newbie needs a hand

Post by BigSky92 »

Hello everyone,
I'm new to investing. I've been lurking on the forum and thought I'd drop a line and say hello. I received a family discount to Financial Engines as my manager and have been with them for several weeks. I'm beginning to get the feeling that I could do better than their plan considering the high expense ratios of the mutual funds they have me in. I'd really like to have a solid plan in place created by a professional but I'm open to striking out on my own as well. I'm considering the Vanguard Target Retirement plan. I'd like the option of withdrawing 10% of the money yearly for the next 3 years and then I'll be adding to the fund when I'm working. Please let me know if you need any additional info and thanks for any help!
Questions: Would I be better off long term with Vanguard? Any suggestions or Ideas as to what I may consider?

About Me:
Martial Status: Single
Salary: $0 (In school)
Yearly expenses: 15k

Liabilities
Student Loans: 8k

Assets
7k car
170k cash
Tax Rate: N/A
State of Residence: WA
Desired Asset allocation: 70% stocks / 30% bonds

ETF's and Closed end funds:

SCHH Expense Ratio:
CHARLES SCHWAB US REIT ETF 0.07%
SCHF
SCHWAB INTERNATIONAL. 0.06%
SCHG
SCHWAB US LARGE CAP... 0.07%
SCHV
SCHWAB US LARGE CAP... 0.07%
SLYG
SPDR S&P 600 SMALL CAP... 0.15%
SLYV
SPDR S&P 600 SMALL CAP... 0.15%

Mutual Funds:

AKREX
AKRE FOCUS FD RETAIL 1.34%
BWLIX
AMERICAN BEACON 1.08
TWTIX
AMERICAN CENTURY INTER. 0.47
ADBLX
AMG MANAGERS DOUBLELINE... 0.95
SKSEX
AMG MANAGERS SKYLINE... 1.33
ARTYX
ARTISAN DEV WORLD FD INV 1.50
BCSIX
BROWN CAP MGMT SMALL CO... 1.26
EAFAX
EATON VANCE FLOATING... 1.03
FHYTX
FEDERATED HIGH YIELD... 0.98
HILAX
HARTFORD INTL VALUE A 1.35
GLRBX
JAMES BALANCED GOLDEN.. 0.96
OOSAX
OPPENHEIMER SENIOR.. 0.97
PCLDX
PIMCO COMMODITIESPLUS 1.24
WFITX