Portfolio Review Request - New to Indexing

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
JackArbor

Portfolio Review Request - New to Indexing

Post by JackArbor » Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:27 pm

I’ve been researching here for a few months and want to say THANK YOU to the whole community for all the amazing content. Having finally found index investing, I’m going all-in with my tax-advantaged accounts and am seeking feedback on my choices.

After a few months of research, I’ve settled on Rick Ferri’s Core Four and plan to set it and forget it. Because I’m concerned about the hyper-inflated market and current political climate, I’m choosing a 70/30 allocation. I plan to rebalance once a year.

My Information
Emergency fund: Four months of expenses (not included in current assets)
Debt: Mortgage @ 3.625%, one small (under $10K) car loan @ 5.25%, minor revolving @ 9.4%
Tax filing status: Married
Tax bracket: 33%
State of residence: CO
Desired asset allocation (tax-ad): 70% stocks, 30% bonds
Current asset allocation (tax-ad and taxed): 87% cash, 10% Fidelity Target Fund (401K), 3% taxed conservative WealthFront portfolio (for fun)
Investment temperament: I can handle some risk, but not as much as I thought I could
Investment experience: Freshman
Target retirement age: 70 (goal is to convert to self-employment in the next 10 years and keep working).

Current Assets
Taxable account: $60K in cash - 17% (very conservative WealthFront), 83% Cash (Fidelity)
Trad IRA (Vanguard): $220,000 all cash
401K, Company Sponsored (Fidelity): $32,000 *FID FREEDOM K 2035 -FKTHX - 100% (fees: .67%)

Annual Contributions
Savings, taxed account: $12,000
401K: 15%, $27,000
Trad IRA: $0 (income capped)

Funds available in 401K
Name / Expense Ratio / Category
ABF LG CAP VAL INV (AAGPX) 0.93% Large Cap
FID 500 INDEX PR (FUSVX) 0.05% Large Cap
FID CONTRAFUND K (FCNKX) 0.58% Large Cap
FID GROWTH CO K (FGCKX) 0.66% Large Cap