Need advice on my roth IRA

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
SiR99

Need advice on my roth IRA

Post by SiR99 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 12:34 pm

Hi everyone,

I am a resident physician that recently opened a roth IRA with vanguard. I will have $11,000 to invest, but I don't know which funds to buy and no one is really giving me clear advice. I would like to spend time reading about it but I just don't have the time right now and I would like to get it started right away since I have been postponing this for a while (and when I get more free time I will continue to read about it).

Someone has said that this early on, my primary assets should be low-cost stock index funds, like total stock market and S&P 500 funds, but I don't know how much of each I should buy.

Should I invest all my money in a S&P 500 fund or a Total stock market fund or go 50/50? What about admiral funds?

I would like to get advice from people with more experience on what and how much of each I should buy.

I appreciate any insight anyone can give.

Thanks

retiredjg

Re: Need advice on my roth IRA

Post by retiredjg » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:06 pm

The Total Stock Market contains the 500 Index so there is no reason to use both. You will get Admiral Shares if you buy enough of a fund to get Admiral Shares.

If this is your only investment and if you don't have enough time to learn some basics right now, I'd just buy the Vanguard Target 2060 fund (90% stock and 10% bonds) and let it cook until you have time to learn more. The target funds don't come in admiral shares, but the fund is cheap enough that you don't really need to worry about that at this point.

Rupert

Post by Rupert » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:12 pm